rionaleonhart: revolutionary girl utena: utena has fallen asleep on her schoolwork. (sort of exhausted really)
[personal profile] rionaleonhart
Dream roundup time! It's only been three weeks since the last one, but I've had some convoluted dreams lately.


Dreams from March. )


Finally: I think I dreamt last night that Robert of The Goes Wrong Show turned into a small aeroplane and Chris turned into an engine and it was weirdly intimate, because Chris was nestled against Robert's aeroplane 'neck', where the forward edge of the wing met the fuselage, and rumbling/purring? They were indoors - in a restaurant or something, rather than a hangar - so it was a very small aeroplane: still larger than a person, certainly, but able to fit in a room.

I am now weirdly emotionally invested in aeroplane/engine slash, and I don't know what to do with this feeling.

Wait, did this happen because I was talking yesterday about what it would be like to be next to Robert Grove on a flight?

More Prince of Tennis posting

Mar. 28th, 2026 08:07 pm
thawrecka: (Default)
[personal profile] thawrecka
In addition to marathon-ing the anime, I also speed ran the manga. I reread the entirety of the original Prince of Tennis manga this week, and I want you to know that nobody should do this to themselves. It is bad, and I feel bad. I will not be reading the sequel.

The beginning of the manga is about tennis. The end of the manga is about superpowers and pseudo mysticism and being willing to die on the tennis court. It is very very stupid.

(It's all on the Jump app šŸ˜‚)

Anyway, thoughts on the anime inc. changes, more thoughts on the manga, etc.

  • Well it turns out the reason I remembered nothing about the Midoriyama matches is because they were pretty boring, but the jousei shonan matches that replaced that in the anime go on longer and are even more boring.

  • I forgot that thing where Ryoma's dad called kids toys to play with, what a douchebag.

  • I hate Rikkai ahahaha. Sanada beating people just makes him a douchebag.

  • The manga is funnier and more ridiculous than I remembered. The bowling episode comes straight from the manga!

  • I like Kaidoh's match with young Rokkaku guy in the manga, but I actually like Ryoma's match with him in the anime even more, it's fun and they seem to be having fun. That's probably the only adaptation change the anime makes that I actually like, though.

  • Fuji has his eyes open so much more in the manga. Also, I like temporarily blinded Fuji in the manga more but the selfless state nonsense is so dumb. What is with all the pseudo mystical nonsense?!?

  • Kaidou and Yagyuu dressing as each other to play doubles! And I just started the Nationals OVAS, and they did adapt that, yay!

  • It well and truly jumps the shark during the Shithenhoji matches. That boring doubles comedy duo comprised of homophobic stereotypes? They're not even funny! The pinnacles of mastery or whatever the fuck it was is so dull. I know it was slowly going that way, but it stopped being about anything remotely like real tennis, and started being about super powers and pseudo mystical nonsense. Inui and Tezuka doubles but it wastes the chance to be interesting about their partnership because Tezuka turns it into a singles game. Why?!? WHY?!?

  • The Rikkai matches were also so boring.

  • And like, remember early on when Fuji forfeits a match because Taka is injured and it's not actually good for adolescents to play injured? By the end Taka is like 'I am willing to die in this tennis match' and bleeding from every orifice and this is just how tennis works now in this world... The number of games where Seigaku players are bleeding all over the place by the end... I feel like by the end the mangaka forgot he wasn't supposed to be writing about superpowered samurai fighting each other to the death. It's only school sports! 🤣


I reached the bit towards the end of the anime where Ryoma's jetted off to America and Tezuka and Fuji have a match which, if I shipped them, would probably delight me, but as I don't... I'm mostly like, why is there so much exposition?! Well, because they haven't interacted much in the anime but the anime wants to sell this as a super intense relationship you just haven't been seeing so there has to be endless voice-overs about how this is so intense actually! I think it would work better if there had been more interaction between them throughout and there wouldn't have to be so much info-dumping. Also, LOL at the writers having to get Ryoma out of the country first, because realistically both Fuji and Tezuka have been way more intense at him than at each other. And why is this match three entire episodes long??

I feel like this is a writing issue - if there had been better set up long term there wouldn't need to be so much effort put into this 'no it's totally so intense you guys' thing now. I'm happy for the TezuFuji shippers, though, they must have loved this.

Also, LOL at the coach being like "tennis is like a game for him" about Fuji. Okay, but tennis is actually a game though?

Also, 12 year old Ryoma being invited to the US Open is A BRIDGE TOO FAR for me. NO! That is too stupid! And it sort of warps everything around it in the anime, which means that a bunch of scenes which were about Tezuka and people's relationships to Tezuka in the manga become about Ryoma in the anime but without the same emotional heft.

I am finally on to the Nationals OVAs, though, and I am enjoying myself. Even though Eiji basically cloning himself is so much stupider in the anime somehow. But I love Taka and Fuji's doubles match; they're nice boys who are friends and they enjoy tennis and bring interesting things to the game and that's really all I want.

I'm looking forward to seeing the Hyotei rematches animated. Those were basically the last bits of the manga I enjoyed, but also I really enjoyed them, so let's see if the anime lives up to that.
rionaleonhart: goes wrong: unparalleled actor robert grove looks handsomely at the camera. (unappreciated in my own time)
[personal profile] rionaleonhart
Here are a handful of little things I've posted elsewhere recently!

Firstly, I received an anonymous ask about writing on Tumblr, which I thought I'd share here with my response:

How do you write for a variety of fandoms, especially ones you're new to? I can't do that without obsessively reviewing the source material, and consequently don't get any writing done. I want your ability!

My writing process is essentially:

- get into a canon
- devour the canon until I have a good sense of the characters’ voices
- get a fic idea
- OKAY NOW WRITE WRITE WRITE, WRITE BEFORE IT’S GONE

The trouble is that, although there’s a period in which I can hear the characters’ voices clearly, that sense of voice fades very quickly! I have to get the fic written in the narrow window in which I have the characters’ voices in my head, or I’ve missed my opportunity and the fic will forever languish unfinished.

Because writing fanfiction is such a time-sensitive thing for me, my fics tend to be short, and the writing period is often brief and intense; a lot of my fics go from conception to completion over just a few days. Some of my writing takes longer, but, the longer it takes, the greater the risk that I’ll lose my ability to write for those characters. I’ll sometimes go back to a shelved fic and finish it the next time I revisit the canon.

I hope you’re able to get more writing done! I don’t know exactly what things you’re aiming to write, but, if you’re struggling with long things, I can suggest giving shorter fics a try. Everyone’s different, of course, but that’s what works for me!


Secondly, [personal profile] abyssal_sylph tagged me for a meme on Tumblr: The last fictional character in your photo library is the person you gonna sit next to on a 8 hour flight!

My reaction was very much 'oh, God, I hope it’s not Robert Grove, please don’t let it be Robert Gr—'


(GIF by CornleyPolyTechnicDramaSociety on Tenor)

It’s Robert Grove, of course, and I am his captive audience. I suppose I’d better brace myself for eight hours of him performing monologues at me and expecting applause. At least the experience might cure me of my terrible attraction to him. (Let’s be honest: it will probably make it worse.)


Finally, a tiny Goes Wrong Show ficlet, in response to a prompt from JennyC on Discord: Robert's point of view after Summer Once Again.

The Goes Wrong Show, Robert and Dennis, 250 words, set after Summer Once Again. )

If you have any Goes Wrong ficlet requests of your own, send them my way! I am, of course, going to be biased towards suggestions involving Robert; I am willing to have a crack at non-Robert-centric concepts, but I can't guarantee that Robert won't sneak in there.
beatrice_otter: Captain America (Captain America)
[personal profile] beatrice_otter posting in [community profile] fancake
Fandom: MCU
Pairings/Characters: Loki, Thor
Rating: Gen
Length: 13k
Creator Links:
Theme: siblings, AU, fork in the road, character development, gen, politics, family,

Summary: "Because you are my brother," Thor told him.

(Politics and family on Asgard. A brotherly love story.)

Reccer's Notes: This goes AU just after the first Thor movie. It's a fascinating exploration of what might have been, and of Thor and Loki and Odin and what it means to be King of Asgard.

Fanwork Links: That Sheds His Blood With Me
beatrice_otter: Babylon 5--Vir waving (Vir's wave)
[personal profile] beatrice_otter posting in [community profile] fancake
Fandom: BBC Sherlock
Pairings/Characters: Sherlock Holmes, John Watson
Rating: teen
Length: 3k
Creator Links: [archiveofourown.org profile] AJHall 
Theme: siblings, family, gen, friendship, asexual characters, fandom classic

Summary: "Anyway. Enough of my embarrassing sibling brothel stories. Tell me yours."

A Sherlock conversation, over breakfast.

Reccer's Notes: I am shocked to find that this fic has not been recced before! This is a such a lovely picture of John and Sherlock's relationship, contrasted with Sherlock and Mycroft's relationship. (Not all sibling relationships are good or healthy.)

Fanwork Links: Breakfast at 221B
rionaleonhart: revolutionary girl utena: utena has fallen asleep on her schoolwork. (sort of exhausted really)
[personal profile] rionaleonhart
Every so often, I post an analysis of how I chose my recent fic titles! I wasn't expecting to be posting another roundup only three months after the last, but I've launched into this year with a startling quantity of writing.

In reverse chronological order, my fic titles so far this year:


Rambling about why I chose fic titles. )


My last couple of Goes Wrong Show fics have been less popular than my others on AO3; it's a small fandom, so nothing gets a huge readership, but the drop from around fifteen kudos to two kudos still caught my attention. I'm not panicking about this - they got a lovely response here on Dreamwidth, so I'm happy! - but it did make me wonder whether there was a reason. Did people drift away from the fandom after Christmas Carol Goes Wrong ended its run in theatres? Did I mess up the summaries somehow?

It took me an embarrassingly long time to realise the answer: my last two fics heavily reference Robert banging Chris's mother, and it simply had not occurred to me that this may not be a selling point for the majority of Robert/Chris shippers. I forget sometimes that not everyone is as delighted by this as me.

Buttering my muffin.

Mar. 26th, 2026 07:40 am
goodbyebird: Vagrant Queen: Elida looks disgruntled. (Vagrant Queen)
[personal profile] goodbyebird
+ I'm back at work, though one day later than I expected to be. It'll be a shorter trip of only four weeks, so now I just need the fishery to be good. I'd love to come home without my brain leaking out my ears; it took me over two weeks to recoup last time.

+ 2026 is shaping up to be a great movie year. I highly recommend both The Testament of Ann Lee and Project Hail Mary, plus there's both Pillion and Dune 3 to look forwards to. I guess I can hope really hard they don't fuck up Ready or Not 2? (I'm definitely showing up either way, if only for the cast)

+ Other things to look forward to: Microsoft Flight Simulator is set to get its VR update sometime next month. So long as it's not borked on the base PS5, that's a day one purchase for me. There's a bunch of cities to fly around, a safari/hot balloon thing, helicopter rescue missions, etc. It might even be just the thing to let my mom play.

+ And on the subject of my mom: she'll be moving back home! My brother and his partner are splitting up, and my nephew is old enough that she doesn't see him that much anymore, so now she's looking for an apartment to buy. I'm really happy about it. Both for my own sake and for hers.

Now I just have to bee diligent with looking for places we can visit in England. Hoping we can do a fun two week vacation there in August.

Aurendor D&D: Summary for 3/24 Game

Mar. 26th, 2026 12:18 am
settiai: (Siân -- settiai)
[personal profile] settiai
In tonight's game, the rest under a cut for those who don't care. )

And that's where we left off.
bookofdanielvol2: (Default)
[personal profile] bookofdanielvol2
Last month I caved and finally bought a PS5, along with my first two games for it: Clair Obscur; Expedition 33 and Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion Remastered (funny thing about the latter is that the original version of Oblivion was also one of the two games I bought with my Xbox 360 back in 2007).

So far the majority of my PS5 time has been devoted to Expedition 33, and I. Love. This. Game.

Great story with some unforgettable twists, great characters, great gameplay, and stunningly-beautiful art direction in terms of both visuals and music.

I like that a lot about the mechanics of the game feel very old-school to an almost surprising degree, from the battle system being a true turn-based system (albeit with an evolution of Mario RPG-style timed hits/blocks/dodges/etc. and button inputs for special attacks to speed things up) and exploring back corners of certain areas leading you to run into super-strong enemies that you can't possibly beat at your current level and know you'll have to come back for. I wonder if, in an alternate timeline, the battle system of modern Final Fantasy games might have eventually evolved into something like this game's had no one at Square ever played Devil May Cry.

The only thing I’m not huge on his how the equipment/ability system works; weapons are fine but I’m not huge on the Picto/Lumina system. But it’s not nearly the worst equipment system I’ve played either; I mean, Final Fantasy VIII exists after all.) I also wish I liked Sciel's battle mechanics a little more since I do like her as a character, but I did warm up to her a bit after shifting to primarily use her as a buffer for the powerhouse characters. Maelle, on the other hand, is a near-constant in my party - when you get it and the Painted Power picto to break the damage cap, her Stendhal move is ridiculous - and Verso (and, earlier, Gustave) also make strong powerhouse characters, while Lune is a good mage (I focused her on fire and healing), and I dig Monoco's pseudo-Blue Mage setup (the way he acquires his skills actually more reminds me of Gau in FF6).

As far as my progress in it goes - while I won't say that I'm actually done with it, as there's still a good amount of optional Act 3 stuff left, I did go ahead and play through the final boss and credit roll of Clai, so I'm going to call it for the purposes of my completion list.

My final dungeon/boss team ended up being Maelle, Verso and Monoco, and they wrecked house - between Maelle's Stendhal, Verso's Endbringer and Phantom Stars, and Monoco's Portier Crash (and, by the end, Creation Void), nothing in the final dungeon stood much of a chance. While I don't think I was too overleveled (~65) to enjoy the final battle, the last round did end up getting more or less one-shotted by Maelle's Stendhal (as did the one fight after that).

As for the ending, SPOILERS )

Anyway, I've been working through the higher-level Act 3 stuff after getting the ending - did some of the optional areas, did some level grinding in Frozen Hearts and then Dark Shores, got some of the collectibles (lost gestrals, manor doors, etc.), etc.  My team is currently around level 85.  I did most of the Flying Manor but got crushed by Clea at the end of it, so I'll have to go back for her; accidentally flew into the flying dragon and succeeded in taking it down (it had destroyed me at the beginning of Act 3 when I flew into it just to see what would happen), and am currently working through Verso's Drafts.  Having already seen my chosen ending, it's kinda nice to just be able to pop it in and enjoy a bit of the game without the urgency of getting to the end of the story (although some of the post-game stuff does add a bit to the story anyway). 

Very good chance that this could end up on my Top 10 Games of All Time list the next time I update it, which is wild since there's only one game on the current list from after the year 2000, and that one's from before 2010 (Grand Theft Auto IV, for the record).  I even ordered two t-shirts from the game's official merch, and put a preorder in for the Esquie plush for good measure.
full_metal_ox: A gold Chinese Metal Ox zodiac charm. (Default)
[personal profile] full_metal_ox posting in [community profile] fancake
Fandom: Mo Dao Zu Shi
Pairings/Characters: Gen; Nie Mingjue & Nie Huaisang
Rating: General Audiences
Length: 100
Content Notes: No Archive Warnings Apply, stern martial culture, the implicit angst of their situation.
Creator Tags: Drabble, Fluff

Creator Links: (AO3) [archiveofourown.org profile] Zdenka; (Dreamwidth) [personal profile] zdenka

Theme: Siblings, Comfortfic, Cuddling Snuggling & Bed-Sharing, Drabbles, Family, Fluff, Kidfic (as kids)

Summary: Nie Mingjue tries to be stern with his younger brother and fails. (The Nie brothers as children.)

Author’s Notes: Translation into Русский available: (AO3-locked): Š—Š“ŠµŃŃŒ безопасно by [archiveofourown.org profile] TiokDragon.

Written for 100words amnesty week for the prompt "indulgent".


Reccer's Notes: The Nie life expectancy means that poor Mingjue is already having to contemplate succeeding his father as Clan Leader. And grooming his little brother as his own successor in turn; it’s like those aphids so short-lived and desperate to survive that they’re born already pregnant.

Which makes this moment when a child allows himself to treat a child like a child all the more poignant.

Fanwork Links: Here is Safe, by [archiveofourown.org profile] Zdenka:
AO3: https://archiveofourown.org/works/59174212
Dreamwidth: https://100words.dreamwidth.org/690464.html
Collections: 100 Words.
isabrella: Zolita and Chappell Roan on a lesbian flag background (zolita)
[personal profile] isabrella posting in [community profile] girlgay

description

The Completely Arbitrary Sunset Exchange is a femslash+ exchange that I and my best friend are hosting because we think Sunset is cool! This is a low-pressure, medium-inclusive event with a low barrier to entry.

Sunset is "a website established in 2025 dedicated to hosting F/F, NB/F and NB/NB fanworks. It holds pro-freedom of fiction, queer and trans inclusive, anti-bigotry and generally compassionate ideals. For an invitation, you can comment here, on our Dreamwidth or Tumblr, or sign up on Sunset itself.

All fandoms and all canon or non-canon pairings are permitted. All mediums are permitted - writing (300 word minimum) and art are common ones, but we also encourage vids (30 sec minimum), mixes, icon packs, gifsets, etc. We are not doing medium matching, so by signing up you may receive a gift of any kind. 

Schedule:
Nominations: April 6 - 11 2026 (New York time; countdown)
Sign ups:
April 14 - 19 2026 (New York time; countdown)
Assignments out by:
April 26 2026
Deadline:
May 24 2026 (New York time; countdown)
Reveals (works & creators):
May 31 2026

DreamwidthTumblr | Sunset collection | Tag set

a little meme

Mar. 25th, 2026 03:10 pm
summerstorm: (Default)
[personal profile] summerstorm
Nabbed from [personal profile] out_there -- I liked this set of questions, so I decided to break my self-imposed moratorium on this kind of meme and answer them.

50 This or Thats

1. Bagels or donuts?
Bagels. There is something about the specific taste of donuts that really bothers me for some reason.

2. Bar soap or body wash?
Body wash. Soap is way harder to use in the shower and then you end up with a tiny sliver and it's just weird.

3. Being afraid or being embarrassed?
Embarrassed could lead to a panic attack, and it's awful and sometimes you keep going over it years after the fact, but like. Afraid is way worse.

4. Big bash or intimate gathering?
Intimate gathering. I hate crowds.

cut for space )
rionaleonhart: goes wrong: unparalleled actor robert grove looks handsomely at the camera. (unappreciated in my own time)
[personal profile] rionaleonhart
Yet more Robert/Chris Goes Wrong fanfiction! And, yet again, I have managed to sneak Robert banging Chris's mother in here. It's my favourite thing.


Title: The Verge
Fandom: The Goes Wrong Show
Rating: 14
Pairing: Robert/Chris, with some Robert/Celia
Wordcount: 3,500
Summary: Chris steels himself. ā€œDo you ever feel something might... happen between us?ā€

The Verge )
rachelmanija: (Books: old)
[personal profile] rachelmanija


Ezra, an Ojibwe teenager, has to flee Minneapolis when the home of the racist teenager who bullied him burns down, and he becomes the prime suspect. He goes to Canada to run traplines with his grandfather.

Where Wolves Don't Die is mostly a coming of age story; the thriller/mystery element is present but minor. It was recommended to me "Like an Ojibwe Hatchet," which definitely captures a lot of the vibe though it's about learning in community and family rather than isolation. Ezra goes from boy to man while he learns the old ways with his grandfather, who he loves. It's engrossing and moving. I liked that Ezra actively wants to stay with and learn from his grandfather rather than resisting it and having to come around.

Content notes: Hunting and trapping is central to the story.

Go treat your inner child.

Mar. 24th, 2026 05:18 pm
goodbyebird: Parks and Recreation: Tom Haverford thinks you should treat yo self. (P&R cashmere velvet candy cane)
[personal profile] goodbyebird
Hey. Psst. Were you one of those kids that would find a pretty rock when out walking and you'd carry it with you for the rest of that adventure and put it in your pocket and whatnot? Go see Project Hail Mary at the cinema. Don't check out the trailer, just go.

(also featured: science! teamwork! nice knitted sweaters!)

(no subject)

Mar. 24th, 2026 08:14 pm
thawrecka: (Default)
[personal profile] thawrecka
In my rewatch I reached my favourite ever episode of Prince of Tennis -- the one where Kaidoh gets amnesia from a tennis ball to the head, and starts to act like a cat. Cured, of course, by another tennis ball to the end.

It's brilliant, amazing, just as good as I remembered. I laughed just as hard tonight as I did 20 years ago!

Crow Contracts Exchange

Mar. 23rd, 2026 07:25 pm
settiai: (Veilguard -- settiai)
[personal profile] settiai
The Crow Contracts Exchange, a Dragon Age exchange focusing on the Antivan Crows, went live yesterday, and I just now got the change to read my gifts because of the craziness of everything.

I got not one, not two, but a whopping three amazing stories!

First up is Fourth Spaces, focusing on the gen relationships between Lucanis (and Spite) and Bellara, Lace, and Taash in a world state where Rook kept her distance from him. 2334 words.

Next is Gotta Kill Them All, focusing on the relationship between Lucanis and Spite. 520 words.

And last was One by day, one by twilight, a delightful Lucanis/Neve/Spite fic from Spite's POV. 7625 words.
rachelmanija: (Books: old)
[personal profile] rachelmanija


An epistolatory novel about the friendship between an American Jew, Max, and a German, Martin. As Hitler rises to power, their relationship sours, in some expected ways and some less expected, as their characters are revealed.

Very short, very powerful, very technically skilled, a quick easy read with an unexpected and unforgettable outcome. Seriously, don't click on spoilers if there's any chance you'll read the book. That being said, I read it because Naomi Kritzer told me the whole story and it was still great. Thanks for the rec!

The book was published in 1939 under a male-sounding pseudonym, but the style feels almost modern and the themes feel incredibly modern. There's an afterword about what inspired the book, which which is worth reading. Taylor had some German friends who seemed like kind, wonderful people, who became fervent Nazis and abandoned their Jewish friends. In a question so many of us are asking now, she wondered, What changed their hearts so? What steps brought them to such cruelty?

Read more... )

Profile

netgirl_y2k: (Default)
netgirl_y2k

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1 234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031    

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 01:57 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios